Crochet

I’m not that into crochet, however I have done a few things in the past, lots of granny squares, dog toys and such but it’s been some time. Now however I’ve started on the Shark Bag because of course there is no better way to carry my valuable stuff to the beach this summer. I love it when these cute and silly things come in adult size as well. Grown-ups also want to have fun!

IMG_2273

Here’s the Shark coming along nicely, crochet is so fast!

I also stumbled upon a crochet blog, not your average crochet, which seems nice with lots of nice crochet projects,  free patterns and also some knitting. I also love the name of the blog, that’s some nice attitude right there. The reason I found it was that someone linked to this Navajo 3-ply technique, sounds really fancy doesn’t it? You make a loop with three strands of yarn when you crochet, so that you can make your thin yarn thicker and still only use one ball at a time, neat! I can imagine that it would be nice to be able to switch back and forth between one and three strands, so that you could do some freestyle crochet where some sections have thicker structure.

Something that is usually crocheted are different sorts of mesh carrying bags, but this one, the weightless produce bag is actually knitted which makes it more lightweight, and compared to the ones I’ve seen before it looks more “shrinkable”. These bags are quite popular right now for those who are already trying to not buy plastic bags to use from the store, and also want to stop using those bags that you put fruit and vegetables in. I really don’t like those because they’re not sturdy enough to re-use so they often go right in the recycling bin. I know what you’re thinking, just when will some citizens get “level up” badges from the government for doing all this?? Lately what I’ve been doing is buying say, 10 potatoes, without any bag at all and I can imagine that being mildly frustrating for the cashiers in the future… Anyway, thats the point of the bag not weighing much, that you can just throw it on the scale with no panic about the price. This pattern is also available in Swedish so that’s why there’s a bit of a hype at the moment. That is one thing that I love about us Swedes, how excited we get over saving the world with knitted produce bags! I guess they would also be a nice gift since you can give them away with their content (maybe chocolate and fruit instead of 10 potatoes) and then your friend can also join in the world-saving.

Enjoy your crocheting and knitting!

Over and out, Nelly